Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 92 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i am a 5 month old apprentice and i have done really well so far. (From my understanding) i got promoted from the bull**** labor stuff like. (Put in these fifteen outlets, load my truck, run 14-2 from this box to this box etc.) now i work on jobs often by myself or with a master. I know in 6 to 7 months my boss is planning on me working with my own laborer, but I'm nervous because somedays i suck. I mean it takes me hours to do something that my master comes by and does in 5 minutes. Then i feel like an idiot. Is this normal? If so any tips or advice?

·
Senior Lurker
1,310 Posts
What kinda hang ups are you talking about? Something you just dont have experience with?

·
Electrical Contractor
9,325 Posts
So i am a 5 month old apprentice and i have done really well so far. (From my understanding) i got promoted from the bull**** labor stuff like. (Put in these fifteen outlets, load my truck, run 14-2 from this box to this box etc.) now i work on jobs often by myself or with a master. I know in 6 to 7 months my boss is planning on me working with my own laborer, but I'm nervous because somedays i suck. I mean it takes me hours to do something that my master comes by and does in 5 minutes. Then i feel like an idiot. Is this normal? If so any tips or advice?
For a 5 month old I'd say you're doing pretty good. Man, they're starting them younger and younger now days! I didn't have my first job until I was 17.

·
Senior Lurker
1,310 Posts
I mean, Ive watched a guy drop ten screws from up on a ladder down into a gutter before I got annoyed and went over and did it for him. That sort of thing?

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·