Electrician Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a lady call and my wife answered the phone and my wife is just sitting there listening and kinda grinning, finally she says, I'll let you talk to my husband. My wife hands me the phone laughing. I pick up and the lady says to me, I want to swap my electrical over to your electric company. I said, ok we can take care your electrical need, what are you needed done? She said, what are your monthly rates? I said, well I've never quoted a monthly rate, do you have some property you want to sign a service contract with me and I can take of it for a monthly fee? She said, I just have my house. At this time I thinking does she have a huge house and lots of property she wants me to take care of for a monthly fee or what. Finally she said, I'm sick of the Poco I'm with now they charge to much for their electricity and I want to swap to you. Then it hit me! I told her, ma'am I'm not a power provider, I'm an electrical contractor. She said, I know I've already called my poco to come disconnect my power and I'm gonna go with you. So can you come hook me up in a few days, the poco is going to be here tomorrow to disconnect me and you can hook me to yours. At this time it's all I can do to keep from busting out laughing. I said ma'am you need to call and cancel the disconnect because they are going to charge for a reconnect fee when they come to hook you back up. She said, you don't understand, I don't want to use them anymore. I said, you don't have a choice because that is the only power provider in your area and you have to use them if you want electricity. She got kinda mad at me and said, well I can tell you don't want to help me and I don't see how you stay in business if you won't let me swap to you. I finally gave up. I said ma'am whatever you do call your poco and cancel the disconnect work order, I explained again if you have it disconnected and your meter loop is not up to code you ar