Electrician Talk banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Apprentice. Resi-mercial
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a 3rd year electrical apprentice through the association of builders and contractors. Although banging around on new construction sites is fun I would like to expand past new construction and simply pulling the wire relatively quickly in my career. Want to programming fire alarms and do service installation.. Does anybody have any suggestions on how to get in to programming fire alarms??

·
Registered
Apprentice. Resi-mercial
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yenkee77 I am aware.. this is why I specifically put down programming.. 30ish. A hour. Pay is comparable to being a 7/8 year electrician..

·
Registered
Scada Supervisor
3,327 Posts
Go into machine control. FA will get boring in time.

Reactions: SWDweller

·
Registered
Apprentice. Resi-mercial
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I was thinking controls. Definitely after the apprenticeship.

·
Registered
E & I, Integration
175 Posts
Go to automation direct and get a click plc to do a home project. They have a ton of example programs you can study to wrap your head around ladder logic. I have a full rack of cards set up in my basement running my home automation. It’s cheap hardware and you can use the experience to pad your resume. That’s where I started and now I’m running a laptop about 40% of the time, my tools 20%, and the rest of the time in the company truck driving here and there to commit logic updates and program drives. I wasn’t satisfied just running pipe and pulling wire and I’m really glad I got into controls.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Yenkee77 I am aware.. this is why I specifically put down programming.. 30ish. A hour. Pay is comparable to being a 7/8 year electrician..