Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I am a newly qualified electrician and having trouble grasping a theory concept. Basically I know a short circuit is when the full amps of the transformer go through a circuit of no resistance and then get returned to the transformer right.

My question is though lets say we have the transformer connected to the input side of a circuit breaker and the circuit breaker is off. On the output side a resistance is connected from a load. As soon as I turn on the breaker how will the resistance cause less amps to be drawn from the transformer then the short circuit amps. I hope you guys get what I am saying.

Thanks guys

·
Bilge Rat
motors and controls.........
8,460 Posts
Higher resistance = lower amps.

A short is low resistance, hence high current. A load is high resistance, hence lower current.

·
Registered
1,437 Posts
Short circuit current can be anywhere from 900 to 2000 amps but if you have a set "resistor" worth only so many "x" amount of amps then you do not overload your circuit. There is such a thing called " inrush current" that comes from things such as transformers and motors but we fuse these appropriately to accommodate the turning off and on of such equipment.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys I think I just clicked from "inrush current" so basically from the transformer you will get those high amps coming in as you switch on the power but as soon as it goes through the resistance the amps will be lowered depending on the resistance right

·
Registered
1,437 Posts
Thanks guys I think I just clicked from "inrush current" so basically from the transformer you will get those high amps coming in as you switch on the power but as soon as it goes through the resistance the amps will be lowered depending on the resistance right
Well, yeah you have a high demand of electrons for a split second.

·
Registered
4,154 Posts