Electrician Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been working off the books for a contractor since 2009. He won't sign off on me to take my test. I probably knew I shouldn't be working for this guy but I needed the money and the job. Is there anything I can do or am I going to have to find another contractor to work for for five years in order to take the test? Any suggestions?

Sent from my iPhone using electriciantalk.com

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yeah I think he's afraid hell get in trouble I guess he's never had anyone on the books it's like we don't exist I'm willing to bet he doesn't have insurance for us either and we do big jobs I don't know how he gets away with it. Also I think it's cuz he doesn't want me getting my license he doesn't want me going anywhere.

·
Registered
3 Posts
The board has always used w-2's when the employer can't be reached (ie he's dead), but if you give him the paperwork and he doesn't sign and return it in a timely manner, call the board. They'll call him and threaten a board review. He does want to go down that road. That said, all he has to do is sign it and seal it, I'd be surprised if they do more than check to see it's been done. The onus is on you to study and pass the exam.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Banned
4,505 Posts
krisinjersey said:
The board has always used w-2's when the employer can't be reached (ie he's dead), but if you give him the paperwork and he doesn't sign and return it in a timely manner, call the board. They'll call him and threaten a board review. He does want to go down that road. That said, all he has to do is sign it and seal it, I'd be surprised if they do more than check to see it's been done. The onus is on you to study and pass the exam. Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
They will NOT accept w-2's it must be sealed by the license holder he worked for

·
Registered
11,078 Posts