Electrician Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all you "sparkys",

I'm a second generation electrician currently running my own 12 man operation and consultancy. I am moving to the states next year and although i have all my uk qualifications do i need addtional quals to get relevant state licences

·
Super Moderator
21,929 Posts
Hello all you "sparkys",

I'm a second generation electrician currently running my own 12 man operation and consultancy. I am moving to the states next year and although i have all my uk qualifications do i need addtional quals to get relevant state licences
Welcome-- yes you would need a license in most states. Some states have reciprocity with others while others do not. Depends a lot on the state you work in. Pennsylvania, I believe, does not require a state license but may require local licenses.

Reactions: electricianessex

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome-- yes you would need a license in most states. Some states have reciprocity with others while others do not. Depends a lot on the state you work in. Pennsylvania, I believe, does not require a state license but may require local licenses.
Many thanks Dennis, I think I am about to move into a minefield when we go over next year. I have plenty of time to do the homework on licenses. ( I think I may need a few months to work out what licenses and where i get them etc ).

Thanks again

·
animal lover /rat bastard
13,547 Posts
most states have information online which you can download and fill out to apply to qualify to take the tests you need to pass to obtain licenses.

here is a website where you can start looking if you want
http://www.mikeholt.com/statelicense.php

·
Super Moderator
21,929 Posts