Electrician Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a second year apprentice looking to become the best that I can be in the electrical field. Besides getting in with a good company, what are some great books to read besides ugly's to increase my knowledge in a practical way.

·
Registered
13,241 Posts
Felandro said:
I am a second year apprentice looking to become the best that I can be in the electrical field. Besides getting in with a good company, what are some great books to read besides ugly's to increase my knowledge in a practical way.
This one.
And

And this one has saved my bacon before.

·
Banned
7,221 Posts
Go to BCIT and get a good education is the best thing..

But in the meantime, getting P.S.Knights Electrical Code Simplified will help you learn the code rules and why things are done certain ways. You should be able to find this book in Home Depot's for $15-20. It helped me a lot as a second year.

Welcome to the forum, I'm also in Vancouver.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you for the help, that's the second time I've been recommended the code book simplified. I will pick one up if that helps quick a bit, not sure if the American Electricial code is the same so not sure if that book would be proper. Motor repair sounds like fun though.

·
Registered
60 Posts
would you say that getting a solid education at BCIT could open up oppotunities to get into high voltage work somewhere in canada? my plan when i seperate from the military, if i do NOT get hired with the power companies ive applied with, is to go to school full time. i have dual canadian citizenship and was interested in an education with BCIT

·
Registered
13,241 Posts
Felandro said: