Electrician Talk banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I have a question about grounding my home. So my panel is actually grounded, but the majority of the wiring is the old two wire romex with no ground.
Originally I was going to run new 14/2 with a ground and rewire everything. My house is a single story ranch with drop ceiling in the basement and access to the attic, so running new wires will not be difficult.
Then I was thinking it would be even easier to get some bare 14 wire and just run that to each outlet/switch. That way I'm only cutting in a ground instead of rewiring everything. It seems like the simpler option, but I'm just not sure if I can legally fix it that way.
I am an electrician, and I've looked in the code book but couldn't find anything about this. Am I missing something or is this method totally fine? Thanks!

·
Premium Member
20,984 Posts
What type of electrician are you?

·
Banned
11,766 Posts
Hey guys, I have a question about grounding my home. So my panel is actually grounded, but the majority of the wiring is the old two wire romex with no ground.
Originally I was going to run new 14/2 with a ground and rewire everything. My house is a single story ranch with drop ceiling in the basement and access to the attic, so running new wires will not be difficult.
Then I was thinking it would be even easier to get some bare 14 wire and just run that to each outlet/switch. That way I'm only cutting in a ground instead of rewiring everything. It seems like the simpler option, but I'm just not sure if I can legally fix it that way.
I am an electrician, and I've looked in the code book but couldn't find anything about this. Am I missing something or is this method totally fine? Thanks!
How your panel is grounded is irrelevant, your supposed to have a bond that does that for you.