Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering what you fellow contractors did to drum business when you guys were starting off. This is my first year solely on my own and brainstorming on how to gain more business.thanks again for the advice.

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts
I was wondering what you fellow contractors did to drum business when you guys were starting off. This is my first year solely on my own and brainstorming on how to gain more business.thanks again for the advice.

Get tons of business cards out there,You should be handing them out everyday to everyone you talk to.

Stay away from GC's because they will break you before you can get established .

Save up as much as you can and get a good website built.

This guy does great work check it out.
https://www.contractorrevolutionmedia.com/home.html

Don't sit in your office all day get out there with a stack of cards and flyers.

Did I say Don't work for GC's?:whistling2:

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Sorry about that, meant "not trying to work for gc's.". Built a dunkin donuts and the gc tried screwing me.good thing I had a lawyer scare him a bit.

·
Registered
178 Posts
If you can handle the big jobs with a GC go after them! The real money is made in contracting, and changes on the big jobs so don't get distracted by the T&M guys here. Don't get me wrong they make good money too, but it takes more overhead to run a service company than a contracting company. Margins are lower, but total profit is higher in big projects. Stay away from 5-25k jobs cause every electrician with a 6 foot ladder and a station wagon can bid on that work, concentrate in higher value work that others can't bid on. JMO.

·
Registered
13 Posts
service calls for fat pockets

Yes a regular project can be only as good as the person yielding to it with you to the owners... but