Electrician Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Am A Liccnesed Electrician Located In New York. I Am Currently Looking Into Purchasing A "mr Electric" Franchise. Does Anyone Know Anything About It. I Had Previously Owned A Commerical Electrical Contracting Company.

·
Semi-Retired
1,289 Posts
What I know of the franchise concept can make a LOT of sense in certain circumstances and damned little in many others. One of those others would be a state with very little oversight of licensing and irrational permits and inspection processes where just about any idiot with a 6' ladder and a pair of kleins can call himself an electrician.

Any of that ring a bell?

Welcome to the forum.

·
R.I.P. 2014
4,722 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

·
Town Drunk
3,725 Posts
Welcome! :thumbsup:

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
39,118 Posts
Ummm.... did anyone look real close at the OPs greeting? :laughing:

·
Registered
31,141 Posts
Not sure why but for me the Mr. Electric and their chessy logo just seem that, cheesy. And if it makes money it shows you what I know!

·
Registered
625 Posts
How many letters in hello? :rolleyes:
I saw that, but figgured he was just discussed from posting on 'that other forum', and he would give this one a tumble :laughing:

Brian,
First I had to worry about the kibitzers here, now it is the spelling police.

BTW gptechelec,
welcome to the forum.

Work'in For That Free Tee . . .

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
thanks for input. the franchise investment is about $30,000. it does not seem like a lot of money. There are over 150 franchise locations in the US. the system must work. I am just scared to death of opening business in this economy. Any other suggestions or comments about Mr. Electric?

·
Super Moderator
Licensed Electrical Contractor
11,753 Posts