Electrician Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Apprentice, mostly commercial.
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I’ve been frequenting this lovely forum for the past year and a half and have learned a great deal from it, so thanks for keeping this place well moderated and informative. I’m just a stupid apprentice with about a year and a half of commercial experience. With that said, I do wish to seek advice from those of you with more experience than me. For the sake of ease I’ll put my question up front; is there enough in the field to keep me occupied mastering my trade or will I cap out early?

For some background, I’m at a point now where I’m starting to regularly out-produce the journeymen on site. Its not just a case of having mediocre at best journeymen as this was starting to happen when I was with the union working with some pretty good guys about six months ago. This has led me to start worrying that I’ll cap out and reach my peak within the next five or so years. After that, while I will of course still have things to learn, due to age I can only see my productivity declining. This has led me to wonder if I should pursue electrical engineering instead of being an electrician. I do have a free college education at my disposal. My thinking is that I don’t want to max out in my twenties in terms of productivity and thus I ought to look for and possibly peruse other career paths. I don’t want to continue a path that will provide me with no real challenge as I believe that to be a weak choice that I will regret in the long term.

·
Registered
1,565 Posts
Welcome aboard.

Tim

·
Super Moderator
7,175 Posts
If we polled everyone on the forum, it would be 50/50 go to school vs. not.
My opinion is go to school. Do it now or you'll never do it.

·
Registered
Electrical & Instrumentation Technician
16 Posts