Electrician Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just checking out the site,it seems very useful.I had a question and was hoping that somebody could help me out.I am a non union journeyman electrician that works for a very busy shop the wages are not as high as union wages but I get by.I was met by a membership development union member today.He was trying to convince me that joining the union would be better for me and my family.I just wondering if anybody had any advice. Thanks in advance for your responses.

·
Registered
11,095 Posts
I prefer working Union maybe because the 2 Non-Union company's that I have worked for were a complete joke to work for. I know the guy's that own there own company's sometimes can make more money, but I just don't want the head ache of chasing down work and then chasing down my money. As far as working for someone around here you can make more money working Union.

·
Registered
3,867 Posts
You may not be getting the $, but your getting the hours right? Local 440 is a very weak local. Not the locals fault, it's the area it's in. These usually is work in power plants and hospitals, things like that. The majority (like 98%) of your commercial and residential work is being done non-union. I've see very large prevailing wage projects being done non-union. And yes, they were following the rules.

You will probably miss out on a retirement package if you stay where you are, but that could be funded by yourself. Your health insurance would be cheaper for you where you are now.

Being in Fontucky though, you can go 70 miles in any direction and find work.

Are you an apprentice? State Certified?

·
Registered
5,669 Posts
If you want to join, join. Just do it based on information collected by you and not what the union recruiter says. Those guys will tell you anything.

·
Fried Bologna um um good!
8,094 Posts