Electrician Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am just starting off this electrical thing I'm very interested and I want to learn I live in Santa ana, ca

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Please help

I currently work as an assistant/helper for a small electrician company, but I am very motivated to learn and start off in this field I would like to star off by going to school since most apprentice ships require experience and knowledge I entered this forum to get valuable information and advice I live in orange county and I am looking for a good school in my are any suggestions or advice out there? I also wanted to know what all you think about Wyotech and other schools like this please help thank you

·
Registered
3,867 Posts
I'm gonna take a stab here and say you are non-union. It's great you want to learn, but you got to make sure it all counts. Ask your boss about schooling. Try to get him to pay for it or at least a good portion of it. Make every hour count towards getting your certification. State law requires that you are to be a registered apprentice. There is no such thing as an assistant/helper in the world of a C-10 unless you happen to be the chick in the office.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
yeah its non union its a very small handyman/ residential electrician company I mean The owner is Paying me while i learn, but I am not really learning what I would like its mostly labor with skills picked up here and there that's why i would like to go to school and get licensed,again any info on schools or how to start the trade will be helpful. I'm currently looking into wyotech's program any one have any advice on how the trade looks at this school any graduates out there please help.

·
Registered
548 Posts
Hello I am just starting off this electrical thing I'm very interested and I want to learn I live in Santa ana, ca