Electrician Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, first thing i want to say is thanks to everybody for all the insite into the electrical field. Ive been working as an electricians helper for roughly 12 years, I live in TN but work in KY. anyone with any insite on study material to take my master exam.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
well ya, but....

I refer to myself as a helper because i am unlicensed. You see, my dad has been an elctrical contractor since 1979 and have been workin for him since i was big enough to carry his tool pouch around. i consider myself an experienced electrician but other than my 1099's i have no paperwork to back that up. i was hoping this forum might give me access to some of the technical information i lack since i have never had any sort of schoolastic training. any info could help.

·
Super Moderator
21,913 Posts
Welcome aboard. Isn't 12 years a long time to be a helper?
It is but in the non union world many people call the guys who work under the head hancho, the helper. I always used to refer to my men as helpers when I was there even though most could run the job. I since learned that even though it was not meant to belittle their knowledge, I should call them either my worker or my mechanic.

Anyway, welcome to the forum Roo.

Reactions: BuzzKill

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
lol hadn't looked at it that way.

hadn't thought of it that way before. my dad and co-workers refer to me as an electrician, but i don't officially until i can pass the test that says I am. its sort of a personal goal and will help my career too.

·
Registered
12,412 Posts