Electrician Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am currently in the Air Force (non electrical job) and decided I will separate early next year (2014). I am interested applying for an electrician apprenticeship with the IBEW in Florida. I contacted the local JATC there and they said they have abundant work right now but it might take months to review my application. I have a bachelors degree and have taken physics and calculus in college. I have a few questions...sorry if these have been asked a million times. Just trying to get some insight on a possible career change.

Do you find electrician's work rewarding?

How hard is it physically from 1-10 (10 being hardest)?

How much is climbing/going up really high involved in the job? (can go up ladders but I'm not crazy about extreme heights)

Do many electricians decide later to go for an Electrical Engineering degree later? Is it easy to progress if you are a skillful electrician?

Thanks. I'm trying to soak up as much info as possible.

·
Banned
2,507 Posts
Yes, rewards me with money and I don't even hate it.

Completely varies from career choice.. "electrician" is a wide open, vague term, for a group of people who work with electricity. I bet some guys it's like a 2.. other guys, it's a 10.

Also, it typically starts out, especially physical.. apprenticeship you often do work that once you become a journeyman, you wouldn't do.

How much is climbing/going up really high involved in the job? (can go up ladders but I'm not crazy about extreme heights)
Don't pick a job that requires that, then. I hate heights too, and I manage.

Do many electricians decide later to go for an Electrical Engineering degree later? Is it easy to progress if you are a skillful electrician?
Don't have stats, but I doubt many do that. Most either enjoy electrical work, and do it... or else they leave electrical and do an entirely different occupation.