Electrician Talk banner

Help needed in MI on licensing

919 views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  jimeb 
#1 ·
Hello all i am a michigan licensed journeyman electrician and have been in the trade since 89/ 90 when i 1st started. The entire time ive been in the trade its been my understanding that any and everyone needs to be licensed to work in this state and needs a Michigan license to do it. Since i have been working at my current company a auto parts manufacturer in MI the company i work for has hired 4 total over the last 3 years that are not licensed. I voiced a complaint about this which i was told no you do not need to be by the hr manager.
So i decided to call the state and ask them they would know right. I called and yes they confirmed that indeed to do any electrical work in MI you need this states license. Essentially you must be a registered apprentice, a journeyman or a master. I went back to the company and told them this and the HR manager laughed at me saying thats not true. Frustrated i again called the state saying which is it im getting 1 thing from them and another from you and i also asked am i in any way liable for the 2 that are still here. They state yes they can take my license from me and it falls under a aiding and abetting act. Well isnt that nice i though. Okay i returned to work and told them that and i refused to work with help or train thier illegal electricians they kept hiring. Well yesterday i get pulled into a meeting with seinor management HR my supervisor his supervisor the 2 illegals and my 2 union reps and im told they are not breaking any laws and cited some act from 1956 to back thier claims. Then they basically said any refusal to train or work with them will be considered a code of conduct violation and i will be terminated.

So im stuck the company says one thing the state says another 1 way im fired the other my license is stripped from me.