Electrician Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a novice when it comes to electricity and that is why I joined this message board. I would like to learn more about it and how it works! ATM I am working for a Traffic Signal / Street lighting company and I would like to move up in the ranks and become a Electrician. Anybody here a Traffic Signal Tech that can give some advice to a noobie!?

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,618 Posts
Hi all,

I'm a novice when it comes to electricity and that is why I joined this message board. I would like to learn more about it and how it works! ATM I am working for a Traffic Signal / Street lighting company and I would like to move up in the ranks and become a Electrician. Anybody here a Traffic Signal Tech that can give some advice to a noobie!?
Welcome aboard:thumbsup:

That sounds like a good electrical job you have there, lot's of control work.

·
Registered
158 Posts
I do work on traffic lights for our county. Our company is the only one who does this. Get used to being up in the bucket truck, cars weaving in and out of the cones you have set up, and the Cop who's supposed to be directing traffic getting called out to something "more important". We do alot fo crane work from snow-plow damaged poles, but the DOT programs the PLCs to their times and delays based on the specific location of the intersection.

We have made the move to camera-based vehicle detection from the in-ground loops. As the frost would render a loop useless in a couple of years. The cameras have their own set of issues, but overall more reliable.

I'm going to put a loop in my driveway to let me know when the in-laws show up!

TWN

·
Donuts > Fried Eggs
17,042 Posts
...We have made the move to camera-based vehicle detection from the in-ground loops....
I did not know that. Are the cameras specific to the controllers or are they also for remote traffic monitoring and security?