Electrician Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I've been searching for information, however when I found out about this forum I thought others with more knowledge could help me out then what I was finding on google.

I'm unsure if I post my questions here but I am a recent university graduate trying to pursue a career in trades. I thought being a female and completing school, I should learn something practical and found myself interested in electrical work.

I've been reading some of the threads but everything I'm searching on google is saying that I need to take courses, and have tutition costs. I was wondering if anyone could get me get more knowledge since I have called some companies but they have been little help for me as well.

Thank you so much!

·
Administrator
EC
22,199 Posts
Not sure about Canadian rules but in the US you could work for someone without any schooling. The job is the schooling however you will be paid less and you would have to find someone who didn't mind teaching someone that is green.

BTW, welcome

·
Banned
2,507 Posts
Welcome... Clam? :laughing:

Canada does not require any kind of pre-apprenticeship training. You COULD just go work for someone.. I did.

From what I've seen, females in the trade have some decent offers.. some of the bigger companies are really interested in opening the door to women. Fair enough, it's almost entirely dominated by smelly, hairy, men.

Basically how an apprenticeship works is you get hired by a company, they sponsor you.. you work for them, learning on the job, and maybe once a year you go to school for training. The tuition is pretty low and tax deductible. Also there are many government incentive grants, which basically eliminate all training and tool costs.

It's the best deal in town.

Reactions: clam

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,624 Posts
Hi everyone,