Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well boy I've got a good one....

Remodel 1500sqft home taken over from a DIY. Pulled permit, passed inspection, they happily paid the bill and life is good. Another great job in the books right....?

2 months later, homeowner calls and has HOBART there to install their dishwasher with an 8KW booster heater.

ME- UM, I'm sorry sir your not going to be able to connect that piece of equipment to that circuit that we provided you for a standard dishwasher.

HO- Well what do you mean, I told you I was buying a nice dishwasher.

ME- No, your house was a 1500sqft dinger and this was never brought up.

HO- Oh, I see where you going with this, I'm not an electrician how can I
tell you what to run for a circuit.

ME- Sir, I'm not a mind reader. If you are installing non standard appliances you would have needed to give me a cut sheet or specifications that I could follow.....

HO- (really pist and Basically in not so many words) I'm going to sue you for the circuit, the drywall, etc, etc, etc.

ME- Sir, I will install the circuit, you pay for the material and the drywall repairs (Thats too nice in my eyes..)

Note: Formal walk through, no plans, permitted job. SLAB FLOOR, ITS GOING TO BE A MESS TO GET THE CIRCUIT THERE!!!!!

I really think this guy has the nerve to file a claim against us.

You be the jury.. Who is wrong? and what would be the outcome?:001_huh:

·
13,020 Posts
I'm not really involved in the business end of things, so my opinion is minimally valid.

I'd say the homeowner is at fault for not supplying you with specs on the equipment he was putting in.

And I'd say you're at fault for not covering your ass and making sure there wasn't weird stuff going in.

·
Senile Member
I make all the electrons line up for their Flu shots
32,864 Posts