Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
Electrical contractor 37 years. Electrical inspector 2 years
1,781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While I am all for being able to work on your own house, I am also concerned about the dangers of such.
I was just at Home Depot to buy the midrange plates for tomorrow and my big ears picked up on a conversation between a home owner wanting to hook up his hot tub. The Tub was 50 feet from the house. He bought 80 feet of 6/3 NM or Romex to run from the panel to the tub. I just walked away. 20 minutes later I saw them loading up 6/3 Romex.
When I was an electrical inspector I found several people wiring their own tub with directly burying Romex cable.

·
Bilge Rat
motors and controls.........
8,464 Posts
I'm all for homeowners doing their own work but they need to be doing it safely. This is what codes, permits and inspections are all about.

Since the code has gone off-track and become focused mostly on manufacturers profit rather than actual safety and a pretty fair number of inspections have become not much than an ego trip for the inspector, we seriously need to get back to basics.

I can't help but wonder if insanely complex codes are aimed more at making it too difficult for homeowners to do their own work than actual safety.

Electrical is a bit different though......if you screw up building a deck, you've got a bad deck. If you screw up electrical, you've got a fire.....or a funeral.

In my opinion, permits than are incredibly easy to get, reasonable code and reasonable inspections are the best way to ensure that homeowners do not cause a hazard to themselves and anyone else who occupies the property.

The key here is reasonable.......a long way from what we have these days.

·
Registered
Ready Mix concrete plant electrician
2,569 Posts
I'm all for homeowners doing their own work but they need to be doing it safely. This is what codes, permits and inspections are all about.