Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was in the electric aisle at home depot today. There was a gentleman who was without power asking the elderly employee essentially how to backfeed his panel to get the heat on.

I politely said, 'please call an electrician' as I overheard this.... the gentlemen snapped back "I am an electrician, local whatever"....

So around here I guess there are "electricians" needing advice from the HD employees. Also the HD employee pointed him in the direction to the local supply house a block away, for something the store didn't have.... this 'electrician' never heard of the supply house either.... ouch. Lots of power out today, hopefully someone doesn't get zapped by this jokers generator.

This got me to thinking about all the irresponsible advice people probably seek at the HD.... got any horror stories?

·
NJ-IEC
14,387 Posts
I was in the electric aisle at home depot today. There was a gentleman who was without power asking the elderly employee essentially how to backfeed his panel to get the heat on.

I politely said, 'please call an electrician' as I overheard this.... the gentlemen snapped back "I am an electrician, local whatever"....

So around here I guess there are "electricians" needing advice from the HD employees. Also the HD employee pointed him in the direction to the local supply house a block away, for something the store didn't have.... this 'electrician' never heard of the supply house either.... ouch. Lots of power out today, hopefully someone doesn't get zapped by this jokers generator.

This got me to thinking about all the irresponsible advice people probably seek at the HD.... got any horror stories?

This has been going on forever. Asking an HD employee for electrical installation advise is like asking the pizza delivery guy for stock tips. :whistling2:

·
Registered
11,762 Posts
HD aisle conversations make me shake my head.