Electrician Talk banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi i have been a lurker here along time and recently decided i wanted go for a skilled trades job specifically as an electrician. I was up in Toronto for work so i took a pre-apprenticeship program but due to hating the city and not feeling to hot about the JAC route i moved back to London where my family is
Basically how bad is Ontario for finding someone to take me on as an apprentice, I have my owns tools and truck as i work construction and have hit up mostly smaller shops when I have a shred of spare time, I have avoided JMR though because I'm iffy about the CLAC.

If any one from around London knows, is it any better than it looks around here?and if any one from THE PEG is reading this how is it out there because i would move to Manitoba as i have many friends and family out there as well.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Right now as far as I know London is pretty dead. I'm just finishing up a job and not sure whats on the books for next week. Were pricing a ton of stuff but everyone else is too so its all low ball so no ones getting raises for a while I'm told. I actually worked for jmr for a year and its not as bad as everyone says. The Clac is a waste of money and does absolutely nothing for you but all the guys were good that I met but it was quite the party out on the road. I gained 60 pounds in a year from beer and bar food and ended up realizing pretty quick i liked sleeping in my own bed at night and not some flea bag motel. If your really looking for an apprenticeship I would look to smaller company's and at least get signed up and go from there. Most of the big company's I have worked for seem to take already signed up apprentices but not to many green guys.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
KyleC said: