Electrician Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i see all these ads online for jobs out in alberta that i was interested in and their asking for level 1 - 4 apprentices. The higher the levee you are the more wages you earn. So i made a resume and want to apply but i don't know how to figure out what level i am?. i just completed my first block of trade school, i graduated a 2 year program of electrical engineering and they said that you will gain about 1500 hours from this. i don't have any actual record of my hours but with schooling and work i have roughly 2500hours but how do i proof this or be granted these hours?? no one is really keeping track including my employer.

someone please explain this to me so i can work out what level i am at. I'm doing my apprenticeship in ontario also

·
Premium Member
7,413 Posts
Isn't Engineering a 4 year degree in Canada like it is in the US ? In the US you would still be a 1st year until you get some on the job experience under your belt.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Isn't Engineering a 4 year degree in Canada like it is in the US ? In the US you would still be a 1st year until you get some on the job experience under your belt.
no i did a 2 year and got a diploma

·
Registered
31,643 Posts
You can get a 2 year Associates degree in the US, I work with many engineers (not licensed*) that went to a Community College.

*-Few engineers I know are licensed and in Virginia you did not need a degree to sit for the engineers license [this was information from some time ago and may have changed]

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i simply received a diploma in electrical engineering from fanshawe college, but no doesn't make me a engineer

·
497 Posts
No work no school = first year
1500 hours 1st level schooling = 2nd year
3000 hours 2nd level school = 3rd year
4500 hours 3rd level school = 4th year
6000 hours 4th level school = journey person