Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
39,115 Posts
I've been doing it wrong for 20+ years. I've been removing the sheath..... I'm supposed to be removing the casing.

And I don't add ground wires to the mess... I just leave 'em long enough to not need it.

And I use wire nuts, not the recommended wire caps.

And I install 3-gang boxes for 3 switches, not a 2-gang.

And I don't install the devices before the wall is installed... I wait until after the painter is done.

And I use Phillips screwdrivers, not the ancient flat type.

And I use a cordless.

And I don't bother not trying not to scratch the 'casing' on the wires. But I am concerned with the insulation.......

Damn, I'm dumb.

But I didn't see anything about a 3-way in the fluster-f&@$ of a video.

·
Registered
Electrician
4,474 Posts
I've been doing it wrong for 20+ years. I've been removing the sheath..... I'm supposed to be removing the casing.

And I don't add ground wires to the mess... I just leave 'em long enough to not need it.

And I use wire nuts, not the recommended wire caps.

And I install 3-gang boxes for 3 switches, not a 2-gang.

And I don't install the devices before the wall is installed... I wait until after the painter is done.

And I use Phillips screwdrivers, not the ancient flat type.

And I use a cordless.

And I don't bother not trying not to scratch the 'casing' on the wires. But I am concerned with the insulation.......

Damn, I'm dumb.

But I didn't see anything about a 3-way in the fluster-f&@$ of a video.
While you're at it, the wires that you left long for the grounds, maybe just loop the feed for both switches instead of pig tailing.
But I agree, you're dumb!:laughing::jester:

·
Registered
119 Posts
RGH said:
......ok for the homeowner types....me I would of looped grounds and feeds and been done with that mess....zoom bang next.:thumbsup: