Electrician Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,447 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have always been non-union. Thinking about switching over. Unfortunately I have not done an extremely vast amount of DIFFERENT work. I am looking forward to learning new skills and using different equipment I have never used before. I am just not sure how well I will survive at first being a journeyman in the union without having a whole lot of experience. I am not lazy and I am very punctual. I have tried non union shops that do different work than I am accustomed to but with no luck. I like how a lot of union guys seem to be doing different types of work all the time and the training centre seems like a MAJOR bonus.

·
Estwing magic
26,740 Posts
I don't know what you expect from us. It was your decision to limit your experience during your apprenticeship. Now you're stuck. Maybe you can figure out how to reverse the process and become an apprentice again. I don't think the union is going to protect you from your own inexperience.

I hope the many apprentices who visit this sight read your post.

·
Registered
74 Posts
You could organize in as a CE, and take as many upgrade classes as you can. Then change over to a JW. I personal never liked the fact an electrician could walk in to high wage JW, with less knowledge than a 3yr. It brings us all down.
Good luck...

·
Registered
1,447 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
You could organize in as a CE, and take as many upgrade classes as you can. Then change over to a JW. I personal never liked the fact an electrician could walk in to high wage JW, with less knowledge than a 3yr. It brings us all down.
Good luck...
I agree with your statement of an electrician can walk in to a high wage JW. It doesn't sit well with others. I am fully committed to taking a partial wage cut in the beginning. I believe fully in you're worth your experience.

What do you mean by CE?

·
Registered
74 Posts