Electrician Talk banner

Hydro one question from toronto canada

6K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  greenman 
#1 ·
I am interested in breaking into the electrical industry. I have little experience and a exp i have is all residential. From time to time, i keep hearing that hydro one or just any big utility company is where the work and money is.

Since im located in Toronto ontario Canada, I know that hydro one offers an apprenticeship program for construction and maintenance. What can you expect after completing this program and what kind of jobs can you qualify for with hydro one?

Also, i hear that regional maintainer make upwards of 150k cnd a year?

I like the idea of a 6 figure career since i have a family to support but does this require being on a pole, fighting through all kinds of whether and on call all the time? Or is there other career within the company where you can b indoors and make good money as well.

Sorry for rambling, but im a guy interested in the trade and i find it enjoyable so far with the little exp. that i have. I am committed to core in terms of furthering my career.

Thanks for any insight here

See less See more
#2 ·
I'm not sure how extensive hydro one jobs are.
Lineman make great money but you do have to be on call a lot , and bad weather is part of the job.
Every kind of storm your in it .
There are the meter Tek guys that get to play inside more.
Doing layout usually is filled from in house not new hires.
All good paying jobs with benefits.
I would try to get on with a smaller PUC.
Then go the hydro one route.

#3 ·
Just doing a quick look at their site, the Regional Maintainer is what their regular Construction & Maintenance Electricians are called.

Looks to be the equivalent of Manitoba Hydro's Power Electricians, good job to have, speaking from experience, and if they're bringing their guys up as Red Seals, that's even better (MB Hydro isn't).