Electrician Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve recently gotten hired for an electrician apprenticeship and was wondering if any of you guys could give me some advice. I just turned 18 in July and started working for a home remodeling company as soon as I graduated (3 months ago) and at the home remodeling company, I worked with a skilled, but unlicensed, electrician so I have a small amount of residential experience, but not much. While I was there, we mostly put up lights, outlets, and switches and occasionally we would rewire basements after demo and some extensions. I have spent a lot of time watching and trying to understand what he was doing but without a proper apprenticeship, I was limited to what I could learn as even he admitted he wasn’t a best teacher so I moved companies to the one I will be joining. Any advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
Industrial Maintenance Electrician
67 Posts
There are some posts in this forum asking this question. The Vets that have/are running successful businesses gave their 2 cents and some great advice. Try using the search function for "starting","apprenticeship" or "advice". You will get a lot of results!

Also Welcome and goodluck!

·
Registered
Retired Industrial Electrician
1 Posts
Welcome to the trade, Carlos!

It sounds like you are well on your way with your electrician apprenticeship. Having paid employment while you learn is a great opportunity. But here are a few other suggestions just in case it doesn't work out.

I would advise steering clear of private trade schools as these are often designed to separate your money from your pocket. Public trade schools are a much better choice and are often taught by very experienced tradespeople.

Check to see if there is a local IBEW hall in your area and inquire about available apprenticeship programs.