Electrician Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
new to ET so im sorry if there was a more appropriate place to post this.

im an ibew hopeful and will be taking my test on the 11th of this month. if anyone could give me any information they have about the test, the rest of the hiring process and post-hiring (pay, job security, environment, etc.) id really appreciate it

im 19 years old and my father was a member for 11 years until he got hurt. i grew up surrounded by great electricians. i graduated highschool in 2013 and tried my hand at college but realized it wasnt the route for me. i also looked into joing the USCG and took my asvab and scored a 96. not sure if anyone can tell me if that should translate into me scoring well on the test or not. im just a young guy looking to soak up all the info i can get so please, the more info the better. and anything local 351 specific would be great also. thanks in advance.

·
Banned
155 Posts
The test will be completely different than anything you did for the Coast Guard.

What matters way more than the test or the interview are who you know in the local. Remember, sometimes you have to give a little head to get ahead. The poster above me will confirm that.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
im hoping the good relationships my dad had will help me out with that. ive heard all about the cliquiness of the union and hopefully ill be able to take advantage of the ins i already have. i guess its a neccessary evil to stay working.

·
Banned
155 Posts
im hoping the good relationships my dad had will help me out with that. ive heard all about the cliquiness of the union and hopefully ill be able to take advantage of the ins i already have. i guess its a neccessary evil to stay working.
It will definitely help getting in. It may not help you as far as keeping you working. You need real clout for that these days.