Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a home service type electrician for almost 12 years now. I've been in business on my own for 4 years and I've finally been stumped! I have a homeowner who says that she loses power in her bedroom on a fairly regular basis. When I show up to troubleshoot, everything tests out fine. The breaker has been ruled out because other rooms on the same circuit remain on while her bedroom goes dark. I've checked all of the devices in the other rooms on the circuit and everything tests out fine and the connections are all good. I left her with a woody over the weekend and she said when the power went out it went off (open hot). The power always goes off in the middle of the night (from 11pm to 5am) and comes back on as the day progresses. Short of her being insane, what could it possibly be?? I'm stumped.

·
Premium Member
7,413 Posts
What kind of "Woody" did you leave her with ?

Checked everything on that circuit for sure right ? Change the CB just to rule that out. Sounds like either the stabs in the receptacles come loose, or CB

·
Salty Member
31,081 Posts
When you test, plug a load like a hair dryer or heater into the same duplex and time that you plug your meter into.

This will help show a loose connection which if I had to guess will be found in a back stabbed device.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·