Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. First post. Total newb. Looking for some clarification.

My understanding (audio background) is that high impedance means the excact same as high resistance.

As far as power distribution goes, what is the difference between impedance and resistance ?

·
Salty Member
31,081 Posts
Resistance is in the copper wire itself and effects both AC and DC circuits.

electric resistance - a material's opposition to the flow of electric current; measured in ohms
Impedance is an electrical phenomena that is caused by AC circuits.

Electrical impedance, or simply impedance, describes a measure of opposition to alternating current (AC). Electrical impedance extends the concept of resistance to AC circuits, describing not only the relative amplitudes of the voltage and current, but also the relative phases. When the circuit is driven with direct current (DC) there is no distinction between impedance and resistance; the latter can be thought of as impedance with zero phase angle.
http://www.princeton.edu/~achaney/tmve/wiki100k/docs/Electrical_impedance.html

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok thanks. So far our studies have been based almost entirely on dc circuits. Weve been working with some single phase 3 wire ac stuff but impedance hasnt come up yet so I was just curious.

That response from backstay was almost as quick as a GFCI that noticed some more current in the neut. This forum rules !

·
Registered
5,446 Posts
Z=R+Xl+Xc

·
Registered
5,971 Posts