Electrician Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm an Industrial Electrician with more than 10 years of experience in Brazil. I'm looking for a job in Canada that doesn't require the Red Seal ticket immediately. I say that because I've been approved by the ITA BC to take the exam as a challenger, but unfortunately the Canadian Consulate in Brazil has refused me the Visitor Visa. If I got the Visa I would go to Canada and take the exam. I am really confident about the exam because I have studied really hard. But this misfortune has prevented me from taking the exam and ultimately getting the 442A certificate.

I know that it is possible to work in that trade without having the Red Seal endorsement, but it is so hard to find a job that does not require it.

Once I get the job I will take the exam ASAP.

It follows my LinkedIn for more information: (linkedin address)/in/williansousabr

·
Registered
2,952 Posts
Good Luck with your search. I think it is unlikely that anyone will hire you without the documentation because it is not even required here in Ontario although most companies want it for liability purposes.

If you were already a resident, then it might be easier, but no ticket and not a resident... that is a tough one.

Cheers
John

·
Registered
6,740 Posts
Can you immigrate to Canada permanently?

·
Registered
2,952 Posts
I would think it would be tough to get a LMIA when there are so many electricians out of work in Alberta (heavy industrial focus).

You also mention ITA in BC but use an Ontario trade designation (442A)...

Cheers
John

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ok, I understand. About the designation (442A) I say that because it's more easy than say NOC 7242, which is the federal classification.

Thank you for your post.

Cheers
Willian

·
Registered
2,952 Posts