Electrician Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an electrician at a hospital in the maintenance deptmartment. We are in the process of updating some of PM procedures that reflect the NFPA 70E requirements for safety, what does and does not need to be done. The current PM, that was in place before I started, requires to remove panel covers every three years and take images of the connections. We recently had a Fluke demo/training and he mentioned that if the electrical load we are scanning is not at 40% amp load of the circuit , there is no need to to do the scan because it would not show any thing. That is the second place I have heard of the 40% load being a minunum load. Because we are a hospital, most of our distributions are set up to be tied together in case of a failure upstream. So by design most of our distributions are at less than 40%.

Is the 40% rule accurate? It would save alot of work if we did not to suit up and scan panels if they are at 20-30% of rated capacity.

·
RIP 1959-2015
10,750 Posts
I am an electrician at a hospital in the maintenance deptmartment. We are in the process of updating some of PM procedures that reflect the NFPA 70E requirements for safety, what does and does not need to be done. The current PM, that was in place before I started, requires to remove panel covers every three years and take images of the connections. We recently had a Fluke demo/training and he mentioned that if the electrical load we are scanning is not at 40% amp load of the circuit , there is no need to to do the scan because it would not show any thing. That is the second place I have heard of the 40% load being a minunum load. Because we are a hospital, most of our distributions are set up to be tied together in case of a failure upstream. So by design most of our distributions are at less than 40%.