Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been wiring new homes for 37 years. This is the first time an inspector told me that all Romex in an attic must be perpendicular or parallel to the framing members. None of it can run on an angle. These are stick framed roofs with an access panel in one closet ceiling. Of course we don't run wire near the access panel.
I asked for a NEC reference and all he said was "it's in the code book"
What's your opinion?

·
Registered
Electrician
4,340 Posts
I've been wiring new homes for 37 years. This is the first time an inspector told me that all Romex in an attic must be perpendicular or parallel to the framing members. None of it can run on an angle. These are stick framed roofs with an access panel in one closet ceiling. Of course we don't run wire near the access panel.
What's your opinion?
I would then say "SHOW ME"!

·
Registered
Electrical contractor 37 years. Electrical inspector 2 years
890 Posts
Maybe 110.12? Neat and workmanlike manner? Can we still say "workmanlike" or do we have to say, " workpersonlike" manner. It is better for the perpendicular / parallel idea. So many times attic floors are installed for storage or central AC is added and everything is then installed on top of the cables.

·
Electrical Contractor
Owner
4,432 Posts
Does your NEC require wires in the attic to be protected from being stepped on?
ie: running boards beside the cables?

Running at angles look sloppy and really doesnt save that much money..

Reactions: RRF and Max C.

·
Hackenschmidt
10,893 Posts
There's nothing that states the cables must be parallel or perpendicular to framing. I personally like to keep things as square and as out of the way as possible but if they've opted for the lowest possible price they didn't buy that.