Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased a fluke insulation tester. (1507 is the model number, I think.) I tested some wiring today and I was getting about 550 megohms between the conductors using 500V test voltage. When I used 1000V test voltage I got 11.5 gigaohms. - I have very little experience using an insulation tester; in fact no experience. However, I have done some research and I am continuing to do so here.
If I am not mistaken, 11.5 gigaohms is equal to 11,500 megohms. Why would I get more resistance with a greater test voltage? I would think it would be less... Am I backwards on this? Maybe I didn't read the tester correctly, I plan on trying it out again tomorrow if I have the time. (I have other work to do though.... I'm kind of swamped with work right now.) Any help on this will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
271 Posts
If you use a too high voltage you can actually start to damage the insulation of the conductors you are testing. So careful with the higher voltages if you don't really need it.

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My understanding is that the typical test voltage should be twice the rating of the wire plus 1000 Volts. For standard NMB that would be 13,000V. I only used 1000V. - However, as I said, I am a novice at this and I do think it is wise to use the lower voltages unless I need, for some reason, to use the higher voltages. So I do appreciate your response and I will take that into consideration. Any thoughts on the readings I mentioned?

·
Registered
11,762 Posts
Paul S. said: