Electrician Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are they worth the investment? I have never used one so I would also have to invest time and money in training.
Are these cameras for company's that specialize in that type of work or are they for everyday electricians?

thanks for everyone's opinions

·
Registered
32,968 Posts
Depends what type of work you do and/or want to do.

The market for doing building electrical distribution scans is getting flooded, most of the newbies can't be bothered to get training, they buy a low end camera and run and shoot.

The market is tougher than it use to be, I have been doing IR for 33 or34 years, use to be we had to sell on the advantages of regular IR Scans, now we have to sell on the advantages of IR Scans and training and high quality equipment and ........

The market is there and it is just as tough to convince people to part with their dollar especially as other EC's take the IR profitability race to the bottom

·
Registered
5,448 Posts
Same story here, we stopped doing them since yahoos with low end cameras and no training are doing surveys at bottom feeder prices. We do install a lot of IR windows though.

Reactions: Rollie73

·
IBEW L.U. 1852
5,261 Posts
I have to agree with Brian on this one.

We seem to never get calls for IR scans anymore unless it is with a regular customer. It seems that every sparky in town now owns a cheap camera and is using it to scare customers into getting work done.......even though said sparky has never had a second of training on how to properly interpert the images on the screen.

·
Registered
32,968 Posts
Same story here, we stopped doing them since yahoos with low end cameras and no training are doing surveys at bottom feeder prices. We do install a lot of IR windows though.