Electrician Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a 3rd year apprentice with 0 fire alarm experience. I have never really had the opportunity to be a part of the wire pull or terminating or any part of the fire alarm wiring. I always find that the foreman gets his best guys to pull the fire alarm. Anyways I was just wondering if it is something that is very difficult to understand compared to basic 3 phase circuitry. I really want to learn how to pull fire alarm before I'm a Jman, think I might just straight out ask if I can be a part of it next job I get thrown on.

·
Banned
7,221 Posts
It's not especially hard, it just has to be done right.

When I was a 3rd year I became a *** (Fire Alarm Guy). I actually liked it a lot more than standard wiring. Did a lot of Edwards systems in the high rise condos. I'd say bug to get on it, you might really like it.

·
Electron Pathway Engineer
3,105 Posts
Yes and No

Yes it is easy, No it is easy to mess up if you mix your pairs up. :laughing:

Like Frunk said, go for it.

·
Premium Member
2,014 Posts
I learned fire alarm wiring in the mid 70's working on Notifier MD and Pyrotronics System 3 control equipment. Not really a lot to it but it is easier to understand if you pull the wire in and terminate it . Both the NJATC and the ABC have good information in their apprenticeship programs.

The NJATC has a fire alarm manual that is excellent and the ABC fire alarm course is covered in one of their apprenticeship books I will edit this post in the morning with that info.

I suggest that you get one or both of those books and read how a fire alarm system works and then go from there.

A word of advice Stay away from NFPA publications . They are good for the experienced tech (you will not find anything better ) but extremely complicated for the apprentice.

LC

·
Registered
3,259 Posts