Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening,

I am no electrician but my basic understanding is that you can't use an item with a power supply that requires more amps than that stated on the power supply output rating.

I purchased an item from a PC store and I don't think this power supply is right for the item? Pictures are below. The power supply is the first image.

Would be great if anyone could help me - the PC store said that it is the correct one - their reasoning was because it was a lower amp output than what the item required?

Thanks!

·
Old Grumpy Bastard
GOV/MIL contracting
61,598 Posts
No it isn't the proper voltage or amperage. It will be a huge problem. IBTL

·
Old Grumpy Bastard
GOV/MIL contracting
61,598 Posts
Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread needs to be closed.

·
animal lover /rat bastard
13,547 Posts
Good evening,

I am no electrician but my basic understanding is that you can't use an item with a power supply that requires more amps than that stated on the power supply output rating.

I purchased an item from a PC store and I don't think this power supply is right for the item? Pictures are below. The power supply is the first image.