Electrician Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I graduated High School this year and I'm trying to get into an Electrical Apprenticeship. I just registered with the IEC and I plan on registering with the IBEW just in case one or the other doesn't work out. I was looking at the available apprentice positions from the IEC associated Companies in my city and they keep on saying "1-2 years of experience required". WHAT? I even see this on the helper positions. How am i supposed to have expierience for an entry level job? Isn't that the whole point of the apprenticeship? What is going on and what should i do?

·
RIP 1959-2015
10,750 Posts
Hi, I graduated High School this year and I'm trying to get into an Electrical Apprenticeship. I just registered with the IEC and I plan on registering with the IBEW just in case one or the other doesn't work out. I was looking at the available apprentice positions from the IEC associated Companies in my city and they keep on saying "1-2 years of experience required". WHAT? I even see this on the helper positions. How am i supposed to have expierience for an entry level job? Isn't that the whole point of the apprenticeship? What is going on and what should i do?
Landing your first job is hard, but you will find one, you have to get up everyday and knock on doors and shake hands, get a list of electrical contractors and go to their shops first thing in the morning and introduce yourself.

Good luck and welcome to the forum.:thumbup:

·
Retired Account
39,697 Posts
Black one is spot on :thumbsup:, it's not an easy path, but worth it for those who can stick it out

good luck

~CS~

·
Registered
948 Posts
From what I understand Texas is have a electrician shortage. It should not be hard to find a job either non union or union.

·
Donuts > Fried Eggs
17,042 Posts