Electrician Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
RIP 1959-2015
39,624 Posts
Hello, I'm John from Texas. I have been reading post here for about a month now and have already learned a lot here. I have been an electrician in residential for 25 years now. I took a 2 year electrical trade program in high school (VICA) and got a residential wiremans license 6 months after I graduated. I was studying for my J-mans license but in 2004, Texas took over the licensing and allowed me to grandfather up to a J-man without taking the test. I didnt prefer to do it that way but they basically removed that license, it was either go down to the apprentice license or up to the J-man.

I worked for various company's for the first 10 years, becoming a lead man after 4 years. I finally found a company I really liked and worked there for the last 15 years and then was laid off recently. I had been wanting to start my own company for a while because so tired of just barely able to pay bills and such. I bought $450 worth of Tom Henry books and have been hard at it for a few months now. I am studying the J-man level stuff first to bring my education up to the level it should already be at and then continue with the master level. I only did commercial work a few years when I first started so I have a lot to learn!