Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1,627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Its been a long road for us since I first got started in the trade as an apprentice many moons ago (2000) until now. We have been through alot over the years, my wife and I. I started non-union and then went union to get the education and experience I needed for today. While their education and work ethic was great, I had to have more than they offered.

Through the union years, I got laid off alot. The look on my wife's face anytime I busted through the door earlier than 4 pm was terrible, the most awful thing anyone would want to see. She stuck beside me though, borrowed from Peter to pay Paul. We almost lost our house. We couldn't pay everyone, but one way or another we pulled through.

Then, after I got my master license, I took about $7k which is all we had saved up at the time and told my wife that I think this is the best thing we can do. It was scary, but she closed her eyes and held on tight. She didn't know I had my eyes closed at times, too. We made it through the first year (even though it was really 9 months since I started in April). With the winter came another storm in which we had to endure. But God saw us through it.

In no way are we the most successful business around nor do we have that "We've made it" feeling, but we are at a point in our lives where we can breathe easier. We don't have to worry about where our next tank of gas is going to come from or if the mortgage is going to be a couple of days late. We don't have to worry if we want to go out to eat that we need to check our account first. We don't have sit around and worry about this month's bills.

It feels great. But.....