Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm 18 and I wanna get into the electricians field and i've been thinking about this for the past few years, through out highschool. I graduated and I feel that i'm really qualified to jump into this field. I either wanna be a linesman or an industrial electrician, but i'm not sure what I want. I need some help deciding, can you give me a basic description of the each job, i understand what each job does, i wanna know stuff like travel, which job would i have to travel farther for. Info of that nature, like I said understand what they do, I just wanna do what will it take on my part. Thanks a lot

·
Darn good sparky!
109 Posts
If you want to become an idustrial electrician, i believe you should start residential,service calls, commercial, then jump into industrial. My goal as well is to become a industrial electrician, and this is the road im following because this way you become an well rounded electrician. Or join the union im sure the train you very good. For the line men thing you should look into www.lineman.edu Northwest lineman college. Good luck in the field.

·
Super Moderator
Retired
16,542 Posts
I would go lineman, glorious work IMO. Very cool.
Sure, If you like working outside in the heat, extreme cold, rain, snow, sleet ect.....Also, nights and days. Always on call. Do you like carrying a beeper with you everywhere you go? You might be away from home for several weeks at a time. Plenty of overtime if your into that. Not for me, for sure.

IMO industrial is the way to go if you like controls and machinery. It's probably a good idea to get some experience in construction first. Learning how to bend pipe, and basic understanding of electrical circuits will serve you well in an entry level industrial atmosphere. So commercial is where I would start unless you can get into industrial right away.