Electrician Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm going to be interviewing for a Maintenance Electrician position at Citgo on Monday, and I'm trying to get an idea of what to expect. I haven't had a lot of experience since I graduated from college, so I was wondering if anyone could help me with ideas about what kind of questions I will be asked in the panel interview, and maybe what to expect in the "hands-on" test that follows given that I pass the interview. Any kind of help will be much appreciated. I've looked at the job description and brushed up on ac/dc theory, ohm's law, kirchoff's law, reading schematics, etc., but I don't want it all to be in vain, if it's a lot simpler than what I'm expecting. I appreciate any and all help given.

Thanks,

Ddouget

·
Registered
786 Posts
All the test I have taken always have a few serie / parallel circuits with resistors . Batteries hooked in different configurations and you have to figure out the right voltage . Draw out a start stop circuit for a motor starter .
The one we use at work shows a basic light circuit with a switch and fuse . It has a meter at different points and you have to put what the meter should read . It's pretty simple but a lot of people have trouble with it .

·
antisocial group ******
773 Posts
It is going to depend upon what they expect of you, and what kind of person they are looking for.

If they are looking for a "regular" (I guess thats a way to say it) maintenance electrician, they expect you to run conduit, hang lights, relay troubleshoot...basic stuff.

The hands on could be as simple as start/stop, prints reading.

But it can also range to doing board level troubleshooting on a simple single layer board (timed), to starting from nothing and getting on-line with their favorite flavor of PLC (setting up drivers, etc).

It really depends.

One "kind of" good way to know, is what they pay. 20-30, pretty basic.