Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
would anyone switch from construction to maintenance? What are the pros and cons? I'm looking for a position with a school and was wondering how rewarding is to be a maintenance and what to expect on a regular working day

·
Registered
32,963 Posts
To each their own, but would I do it NO WAY IN HELL.

I can't think of a place I have worked with maintenance electricians where they would be busy enough for me.

·
Electron Factory.Worker
351 Posts
I'm a power plant maintenance electrician/tech. I love because there's always something breaking and the pressure to fix it when the plants down makes it exciting. If I was a regular building maint electrician I would have eaten a bullet already changing lamps and resetting circuit breakers would get real old pretty quickly. Going from construction to maintenance will be a huge culture shock, it certainly was for me. But once you become institutionalized you get used to it.

·
Premium Member
7,413 Posts
I'm a power plant maintenance electrician/tech. I love because there's always something breaking and the pressure to fix it when the plants down makes it exciting. If I was a regular building maint electrician I would have eaten a bullet already changing lamps and resetting circuit breakers would get real old pretty quickly. Going from construction to maintenance will be a huge culture shock, it certainly was for me. But once you become institutionalized you get used to it.
Scameron, I could get into your kind of job. A lot of maintenance guys are mechanics as well, Welding and fabrication, Plumbing, Hydraulics, pneumatics, etc.

I did it for awhile at the airport.

·
Registered
14,669 Posts