Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After 30 years of being an electrical contractor I want to grow my company.
I am turning down 50% of the business coming my way.
I want to hire elec. techs and manage jobs and service calls.

Anyone know of a publication outlining a practical business plan for a service oriented business.? I am not interested in buying expensive software.

I am a very good electrician. I have never taken a business management course. I see guys like plumbers, painters etc. with trucks and techs.

I am ready for the next level.

·
Registered
12,167 Posts
I think that is great. I wish you the best luck.
Anyone know of a publication outlining a practical business plan for a service oriented business.? I am not interested in buying expensive software.
I can understand your reluctance to buy "expensive" software. IMO, you will need some software to help. The bigger you plan to get, the more you will appreciate good software.
I am a very good electrician. I have never taken a business management course.
That does not bode well for success. You should consider a course or two.
I see guys like plumbers, painters etc. with trucks and techs.

Did you ask those guys?

:laughing: Be careful what you wish for, :whistling2:

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'll let you folks know how it turns out. I am too old for crawling. Tired of hacks under bidding me.
I am too smart to not find what I need.

30 years in business. I must be doing something right.

·
Banned
I make all the electrons line up for their Flu shots
33,456 Posts
I don't know if the EKR forum is still around, but a member named LA electrician or something close to that wrote a 12 part guide that was pretty good. Try to get a hold of a copy of that thing.

·
Small Potatoes
5,456 Posts
Would ES2 help him?
I've looked at it and if I were just starting out I would definitely use it. :thumbsup: