Electrician Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
BlackWhale49
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our company pays directly for hotel rooms for out of town work. The company gives each man susistance for their meals each day they are out of town. I'm trying to get a gauge of what the subsistence amount should be and how much different it should be for a large metropolitan area vs. a rural town if any. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
12,167 Posts
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-13-65.pdf

I've seen per diem around here go from $20/nite to $40/nite.

Notice I said night and not day. If you left on Monday and came back on Friday it would be 4 nights and 5 days, so the company most likely will pay by the night spent out of town.

Reactions: electricbysullivan

·
Registered
310 Posts
When I worked in the oil field it was $10 per every 8 hours away from home, so up to $30 a day. But per diem is also tax free so that helped.

·
Registered
Electrician & Electronics Technologist
1,245 Posts
$10/breakfast
$15/lunch
$25/supper

I thnk all my employers in the last few years have gone with that or close to. My current employer just gives us the company card, and says keep it within reason.

·
Registered
12,167 Posts
$10/breakfast
$15/lunch
$25/supper

I thnk all my employers in the last few years have gone with that or close to. My current employer just gives us the company card, and says keep it within reason.
While I don't think that is unreasonable at all, I can tell you from being in management what the owners thought where I worked.

Their feelings were if we get a hotel that serves breakfast, you don't need a breakfast allowance. Most people go to a fast food or sandwich place for lunch and $10 should more than cover it (remember, this was some years ago). You can get a decent dinner for $15-$20 so $25-$30 is more than adequate.