Electrician Talk banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,450 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw Jza's thread and it reminded me that I wanted to post this.

I've been using a Fluke 1507 for a few years now, absolutely love it, takes the mystery out of motors with tripping breakers and overloads. Just the other day though I had one that's making me question my troubleshooting technique, or lack thereof?

I tested a 150HP motor at 1000v, 0.0 megaohms on all 3 leads. I pulled out my Fluke T+Pro and I had continuity between the motor case and the motor leads. Definitely bad. The customer pulled the motor and sent it off to the rewind shop.

A couple days later the motor rewind shop called and said they had it running in their shop just fine????? I never heard if they megged it though.

Just today, I had a submersible 90HP pump tripping the breaker, it was reading 15.5 megaohms. We're going to pull the pump tomorrow just to make sure the impeller is free before we unhook it. I tell my customers that anything below 50 megaohms is time to start looking for a spare or plan on a rewind soon.

I haven't tried the ohm test myself, I'd like to have one of those Fluke's with the LoZ option to try it though.

Is there anything else a guy in the field can do to reliably confirm a bad motor?

Thanks for the help.

·
Mad as Hell Member
2,935 Posts
A couple days later the motor rewind shop called and said they had it running in their shop just fine????? I never heard if they megged it though.
My biggest fear. Most of our clients fully trust us, but a bad call on a large motor could be our last.

·
Donuts > Fried Eggs
17,042 Posts
I once had a dedicated motor shop not do insulation resistance test on a faulted motor. I have absolutely no idea why the hell they wouldn't test that, but apparently it happens.

The other thing is if you had a winding lead fault, just moving the motor around may have been enough to clear it. Trust your test equipment. Running ≠ Fixed.

·
Registered