Electrician Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm not an electrician but that's what I want to be when i grow up. I'm glad I figured that out, since I’ve been working on that question for the last 36 years. Currently I’m an Electronics Technician in the US Navy for the past 18 and a half years and I will be retiring in 18 months. I'm living in Lake Stevens, WA now but plan on moving back to somewhere in Louisiana when I get out of the Navy. Some of my experience is in running cable for Intercoms, Phones, CAT5, and I’ve spent a month running conduit and Romex with a Combat Electrician. I've used Meggers, Multi Meters, Time Domain Reflectometers, O-Scopes, and various other test equipment.

I'm here for some advice on how to go about getting into the Electrician's trade. Do I need formal classes? Should I get a copy of the NFPA 70 and start memorizing line numbers? How do you go about getting an apprenticeship? What research can I do now before I change fields in 18 months?

I've been working with electronics for a while so I don't think that I have to worry about the math or electrical theory (I really don't want to sit through another 6 months of AC/DC theory, Electrical Principals, and Algebra)

Any advice is appreciated, Thanks!

Mel.

·
Registered
587 Posts