Electrician Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I've browsed this forum a lot, first time posting though. I'm 20, have read a lot and talked with folks in the trade. That being said, I'm ready to dive in and start an apprenticeship. I'm ready for the hard work, and I REALLY want to LEARN. If I'm an electrician for the rest of my life, I want to continue to gain more knowledge and specializations in the trade. I'm very smart, but could never sit at a desk all day. I'm very set on this and I'm prepared to work hard for this. I live in Memphis at the moment, and am married. I'm going to go through the Midsouth IEC for my apprenticeship. I might move to Phoenix halfway through, but there is an IEC location there, so it's all good for transferring. Within the next month I'm gonna go apply at IEC for the apprenticeship (take an easy math test, drug test, and I have a clean record, good high school grades, physcially capable, etc.). How IEC works: If you pass the tests, you aren't "accepted" yet to take your weekly class. They set you up with job interviews (the school is partnered with like 50 local electrical businesses), and once you get hired on with one of these businesses, you are a full-time apprentice and you are "accepted" to start classes.I hope I get hired on somewhere quickly, don't want to wait around. I guess the point of my post is to introduce myself, and to ask anyone in the Memphis area what they think, advice, job prospects.. Anything. I'm all ears guys

·
Questioner of Authority
880 Posts
Just kidding, get used to it.
Go and do it. Jobs don't generally fall out of the sky and land in your lap. You have to put in the footwork. The sooner the better, if you are serious.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Oops, first post on the forum. Sorry, I'll learn my way around. And to the poster above..It does seem like "tools" are replying :laughing: