Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the minimum wire size allowed to supply a 100va 120vac to 24vac step down transformer within a controls cabinet when the 120v is fused at the breaker at 15amps.

Basically we had a contractor install 18awg wire from the existing 120vac/15amp service feeding the cabinet to the requested 100va transformer with no additional fusing with 18awg wire. Would this be acceptable?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How does a 15A OCP protect a 18AWG conductor? This is a first year apprentice question, are you an electrician?
That was the point of the question, we had an electrical contractor make additions to several HVAC control cabinets at several sites in this fashion which I would have assumed is not acceptable for several reasons which I flagged to my manager as unsafe and not to code. My background is in electrical engineering technology, but I am also a licensed Refrigeration mechanic and Licensed G1 which allows me to work on quite a bit of electrical within very large boilers and chillers. (600vac, 3phase, motor control circuits, vfd's, load and line reactors, motors, etc etc is all within my scope when related to HVACR)

So I was wondering if I missed something? Why any licensed electrician would have installed something as such.
Gadget Electronic instrument Gas Electronic engineering Electrical wiring

Attachments

·
Coffee drinking member
I pretwist and then use wire nuts. Solder pots rule.
14,523 Posts
The question isn’t “Can the 18 gage wire carry 15 amps?”, (it can).
The question should be, “Is that wire rated for the use.”
It’s a **** install IMHO.

Your pictures show the wire is from the equipment switch, to a transformer inside the cabinet.

·
Registered
Residential, lite comm., Industrial
3,294 Posts
The question isn’t “Can the 18 gage wire carry 15 amps?”, (it can).
The question should be, “Is that wire rated for the use.”