Electrician Talk banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm currently a first year apprentice in my local JATC with 4 weeks remaining in Book 1. Life circumstances have dictated that I move across the country in 6 weeks. I've contacted the local JATC where I am moving and they said that while they do not accept apprentice transfers, if I were to apply and get in I could submit the work and school hours I've done so far for credit.
So my dilemma is what to tell my local JATC. I would like to continue working up until I move in order to save as much money as possible, but am afraid that if I tell them I am planning on leaving they will go ahead and remove me from the program immediately. I've aced all my tests in school and have done well in the field getting "atta boy's" regularly at work. I want to leave as graciously as possible without shooting myself in the foot. Is the "2 weeks notice" etiquette acceptable here? If anyone has any experience or advice on this it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Retired Account
39,697 Posts
I'm confused....you're being transferred to a local who hasn't accepted you ?

'splain?

~CS~

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm not being transferred. I'm moving for personal reasons. They do not accept transfers so i have to apply as an incoming first year apprentice just like everyone else.

·
Flex Bits & Blindfolds
1,120 Posts
I would probably let the know ASAP.
It's one thing that the new local won't accept transfers, that's their policy, but if a current company laid you off because of life circumstances (not a transfer, Steve) then that's probably not a company/local I would be proud to be a part of.

I'm sure the advanced credit would be a huge head start in the new local, as far as being accepted quickly.

·
Member IBEW LU #164
2,965 Posts